biography Composer

Ali Radman

Ali Radman was born on June 20th,1973 in Tehran, Iran. He was introduced to the classical music foundation and basic theory topics of music by his father, Mohammad Hassan Radman, from early ages. He improved his knowledge of basic elements of music, piano playing and theory of the Iranian music under the conservatory teachers’ supervision, while he was a sophomore in the field of Electronics in Kerman University. In 1990, he became a member of UNIMA as a composer and was accepted as a bachelor student in the field of music at the Faculty of Fine Arts in the university of Tehran in 1995.

In composition, he is an art graduate from the school of Alireza Mashayekhi. Besides composing, he improved his knowledge of Iranian music repertoire through Majid Kiani’s lessons, the basics of ethnomusicology through Mohammad Taghi Massoudieh and acquired the techniques of piano playing under the supervision of Raphael Minaskanian. Additionally, he learned orchestra conducting from Edo Mičič, Manuchehr Sahbaei and Iradj Sahbaei and graduated, ranking as the first student from University of Tehran. Afterwards, he started his master studies in the field of Music Composition at the Tehran university of Arts. Additionally, He studied composition with Olena Dyachkova, Tolib Shakhidi, Hossein Dehlavi and Ahmad Pejman during his graduate studies.

In 1996, he cooperated with Tehran Music Group and the Iranian Orchestra for New Music, performing several concerts as conductor and pianist. Radman joined the music department at the University of Tehran, faculty of fine arts, in 1999.

He cooperated with the orchestra of contemporary music research center at the school of Fine Arts and actively participated as a performer in all the publictions of the Iranian Orchestra for New Music and performed research concerts and other programs as a pianist and conductor during the Fajr International Music Festival. In 2008, he presented his experiences in Iranian polyphonic composition under the title of “Persian Clusters”. He served as the head of the department of music at Islamic Azad University, Shiraz Branch from 2009 to 2017 and was holding out seminars and concerts at Tehran and Shiraz University regarding “techniques of composing in 20th century” and “Evolutions in composing in Iran”.

Radman founded Pars Contemporary Orchestra in 2011 and performed several orchestral pieces in various styles. He is a member of the Association of the Iranian Contemporary Music Composers (ACIMC) as well.  In 2013, he achieved First Class Medal of Art in Iran.

In composition, he has developed the rhythmic, melodic and timbre elements of Iranian musical scales with an approach to both contemporary international music and the forms inspired by Iranian modal music.

His interest and focus in composition is in introducing models inspired by Iranian folk music in polyphony, with an approach to contemporary music which is presented in different forms like orchestral, ensemble, solo, electronic and electroacoustic pieces. His several pieces are performed by various contemporary orchestras in Europe, America and Asia.

Radman Cooperated with Several International Music Composition Festivals and Art Conferences in Kiev, Brussels, etc. He held workshops at the Royal Conservatoire of Antwerp regarding “models of polyphony textures in Iranian music” in March 2017.

His Symphonic Works, Quartets and Piano Works were performed in “Ukraine-Kiev Music Composition Festival” and “Identity Symphonic Movement” in the International Conference “cultural Heritage and Identity Formation” in 2012.

“Masnavi”, a piece for string quartet, vocals and Bassoon was performed and released at the Bozar Festival by Haftcraft Ensemble in 2017 in Belgium.

“In search of lost memory” for oud and electronic sounds and player dialect, was performed in “TRAIECT II festival” in Hanover, Germany, in 2018.

Recently, one of his pieces for Flute and Electronic Sounds, named “Cold Moments of Darrous” was performed in FNMC new music festival in USA and published in “Iranian new waves” album produced by Petrichor Records in February 2020.

In 2019, the two albums of “Little Black Fish” and “The Tale of the Town of Mirrors” were published in Belgium and Iran. The albums “Fable of Statue Concert” Containing Four Orchestral Works in 2015 and “Katibeh (Inscription)” in 2009, are among his other publications.


  • “Expression (I)” for Solo Piano- (1999)
  • “Expression (II)” for Solo Piano- (2000)
  • “Mani” for Flute, vocal, and Piano- (2000)
  • “Four Themes and Variation” for Piano- (1998-2002)
  • “Four Preludes” for Solo Piano- (1999-2001)
  • “Nava” for piano- (2001)
  • “Three Inventions” for Piano- (2001)
  • “Az Khavaran” for Piano and Orchestra- (2003)
  • “Music for Santoor and Electronic Sounds”- (2004)
  • “Sequence No. 1” for Solo Tar- (2004)
  • “Two Prelude and Fugue” for Harpsichord- (2004)
  • “Symphonic Movement” (Diorama)-(2005)
  • “Katibeh (Inscription)” for Electronic Sounds and Tar- (2005)
  • “Argument” for 8 Santoors, Percussion, Ney and Contrabass- (2006)
  • “The Tale of the Town of Mirrors” for Two Santoors, Setar and Piano-(2007)
  • “A Musical Frame” for Harp, Bass Santoor, and Dotar- (2007)
  • “Kavir” (Desert) for Divan and Orchestra- (2008)
  • “Seminar of Colors” for Iranian Ensemble and Piano- (2008)
  • “Symphonic Movement” (Bootigha) – (2008)
  • “Dream of the Last Lullaby” for Piano- (2009)
  • “Ziggurat Voices” Three Movements for Piano- (2010)
  • “Masnavi” for Orchestra and santoor- (2011)
  • “Symphonic Movement” (Identity) – (2012)
  • “Siah Mashgh” for Choir and Orchestra- (2012)
  • “Fable of Statue” for Electronic sounds, Choir and Orchestra- (2013)
  • “The Desolate Land Requiem” – (2013)
  • “Hashtgah” for Vocals and Orchestra- (2013)
  • “Jivar” for Vocals and Orchestra- (2014)
  • “Duet for Violin and Viola” -(2014)
  • “Four Pieces for Performer” -(2015)
  • “Duet in Fair” for Violin, Viola and Electronic Sounds-(2016)
  • “Cold Moments of Darrous” for Flute and Electronic Sounds-(2017)
  • “Revelry in the Atmosphere” for Electronic Sounds-(2017)
  • “In Search of Lost Memory” for Oud and Electronic Sounds-(2018)
  • “Sialk, Eastern Veiw” for Orchestra (2018)
  • “Duet for Violin and Cello” -(2019)
  • “Wander About Me” for Piano-(2019)
  • “A familiar Portrait” for Flute and Orchestra-(2020)

مدیر مجله.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *